Trouble With Engine Bogging Down.. Any Suggestions?

GoldenMotor.com

ILoveVTEC

Mar 3, 2011
Alabama
This thread was moved from Introductions.

Hi everyone! Greetings from Alabama! (Roll Tide, yee-haw, and what-not)

So, I've been having trouble with my bike bogging down when I pull back on the throttle above 10 MPH. I have the Grubee Skyhawk GT-5 Motor with the CNS aftermarket Carb. I've tried making the fuel-oil less rich (24:1) and I have also made sure that my gasket in the carbureter is not leaking (had to replace it with a piece of split 3/4'' PVC pipe, which I have sealed with heat-resistant electrical tape). I have also tried fooling with the fuel/air mixture screw a good bit, with limited and often fleeting success. When I made my fuel mixture less rich, the engine ran much louder.. If you have any suggestions or tips they would be much appreciated. As I said before, I am new to this, so if you wouldn't mind putting things in lamen's terms.. Thanks!

Mac

Dec 3, 2009
Maine
I'd like to help ya, but my bike slows when i pull the throttle back from 10mph too... That in mind, and on a serious side, (My Opinion only) I would go 32:1, I use synthetic oil, get a new spark-plug(B5HS) and wire from NAPA etc... lot's of people having issues with the CNS carb, get the Mix right with the gas, get a good plug and wire, run in flat out(after warm up) for about a mile and "read" the plug. Post results, we can go from there. as far as the PVC pipe thing. . ... check with Pirate cycles(<<<look to left on side of page), they should have a manifold and adapter to hook you up.

Mac

matthurd

Dec 13, 2010
manchester NH
Someone suggested raising the fuel needle? How do I do this in a CNS carb?
http://motorbicycling.com/f34/inside-2010-grubee-skyhawk-cns-carb-25062.html