Idle

GoldenMotor.com

Jamesgregory

Nov 22, 2012
Ohio
Noob here
I have finished installing my 66cc and NT carb. My bike started fine runs I think good. Im still doing the break in oil mix and all. but heres the question. Is there a way or a test I can do to see if I have an air leak? My idel screw doesnt raise or lower the idel at all. I started to try to adjust it up or down and nothing. My bike doesnt have a high idel right now but the screw doesnt seem to work. Could I have an air leak? I used an O ring that fit inside perfect and some sealant that is Gas resistant also. Any thoughts please

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Re: Idel

The idle speed screw on the NT carburetor is not a jet but only a mechanical way to raise the throttle barrel. Screw it in and it raises the barrel, sometimes called a 'slide' and increases the idle speed. Screw it out and it allows the barrel to move down and decreases the idle.
If the throttle cable is out of adjustment and the barrel can't return to the lowest position the speed screw will not have any effect on the idle speed.
You can remove the air cleaner and look into the throat of the carb to see how the barrel behaves when you twist and release the throttle.

Is your engine idling too fast or too slow?

Tom

Last edited:

Jamesgregory

Nov 22, 2012
Ohio

I have nothing to compare it to. I dont think it is either to fast or slow. When I screw the idel in or out nothing happens at all. Its not like twisting the throttle or anything. This is my first build wonder if I hooked the throttle up wrong. If I screw it in all the way it will stall about 3 1/2 turns out and it idels like when I started it

Moto

Jan 7, 2012
San Francisco, CA.

***IDLE**** not idel
lol srry. anyway does the bike idle?, because it sounds like it does from what your describing. Does it stall after a while? Im not really sure if you have a problem? Good luck -MOTO

Jamesgregory

Nov 22, 2012
Ohio