Inexperienced first build

GoldenMotor.com

Rakkassan34

Nov 2, 2012
Kentucky
Newbie here, just intro'd myself in the new member section explaining how this all started. Anyway here it is, my first build and I mean my first build of anything. I have no experience, little cash, crap tools, and no time but I was dedicated and busted my butt every min I had available for two weeks so far. I'm loving it and if I can do at least this much anyone can. I'm going to focus on my mistakes and experience so hopefully others can learn from them.

Attachments

Rakkassan34

Nov 2, 2012
Kentucky
The first pic was what I started with. I'm using my daughters bike and the others for parts and the engine. First task, the frame. Only thing I had to cut with was a small hand held grinder but it did the job.

Attachments

Rakkassan34

Nov 2, 2012
Kentucky
I found some steel pipe at a local scrap yard and got lucky that the top one was already bent like I wanted it. I welded it up with a stick welder and it looked horrible. I ground down the welds to pretty it up and make sure I had good penetration but didn't like the look and thought I really shouldn't be grinding away first timer welds so this time I used my POS el cheapo flux core welder and welded them up again. The welds still looked like bubble gum but I kinda liked the look so I kept them. Are they straight? I dunno, centered? I really doubt it. I just eyeballed it had my son hold them in place while I tacked em in.

Attachments

Rakkassan34

Nov 2, 2012
Kentucky