Newbie Problem

GoldenMotor.com

MMalvin

Apr 26, 2012
Bristol
Hi All,

I have been perusing the the forum since I bought my 66cc engine from BGF to solve a number of problems I have encountered. I am new to this particular hobby but after about 50 miles of riding - I'm hooked. Nevertheless, I have had no luck with my most recent problem and am hoping to obtain the advise of those with way more experience and knowledge about these engines than I.

When the motor is first started, it will not accelerate past 20mph even the the throttle wide open. After about 20 minutes of riding, the engine will start to go faster but will bog momentarily and make a knocking noise. If I release the throttle and immediately give it gas again the knocking goes away and the bike will go faster. I surmise this is because an engine runs leaner once its warmed up - but cannot evidence that in any way. The knocking I also thought may be "4 stroking" but cannot substantiate that claim either. More recently, the motor seems to have periods of heavy vibration stemming from the head of the motor even during low rpm operation. It subsides and returns randomly. Along with this new phenomenon came a gurgling sound while decelerating. Moreover, the bike seems to be going through a tremendous amount of gas. In about 60 miles of riding I have filled up 4 times. I am not a math expert - but even on the conservative side I should have been able to go roughly 180 miles.

I did notice some oil-like substance dripping out of the exhaust and also around the exhaust mount. I do not know if this is normal.

I have read a lot about adjusting the carb - which I have tried. So far the best setting seems to be the 2nd notch from the top. Adjusting the C-clamp made relatively no change in the knocking sound or top speed. I also made sure the carb was level and secured properly.