79cc, 97.7cc, 99cc, gx120, or the gc160…decisions, decisions!

GoldenMotor.com

KeithSeymour

Sep 23, 2013
Northern Virginia
Hi Guys,

I've come a long way since I first started doing my research on what motor to use for my BTR tribute bike. If you haven't read any of my other posts, Here's my scenario:

• This is my first build even though I have done major work on cars over the years and am a good problem solver.
  • I'm building a BTR tribute and using a 1952 road master frame
  • I've been told I need to fabricate mounts because there is so much space so may as well go without a kit.
  • I'm a big guy and the legal limit for the state I live in is 35mph but have hills near where I'll be riding.

With these being established, I'm looking into selecting a motor but have some questions for you guys about the following scenarios:

Scenario 1- 79cc predator ($75 from HF with coupon) w/agk jackshaft and 2 stroke carb- Plus- Seems to be the most popular on here so there should be a lot of support along the way. Negative- lowest displacement

Scenario 2- 99cc Predator ($140 plus shipping from forum member) w/ agk jackshaft and 2 stroke carb. Plus- a lot of aftermarket support and popular on here. Negative- Can't buy it new and it is more expensive

Scenario 3- 97.7cc Lifan from Home Depot ($119) with ago 160 honda carb (thanks MotoMagz) Jackshaft- Will the agk "Doodlebug" Jackshaft work? if not, where can I get one?
Plus- good displacement, looks, negative- not as popular of a build and may have trouble finding jackshaft/aftermarket parts

Scenario 4- GC160 Honda ($75 from a local guy on CL)- CCC has recommended this numerous times on here but have no idea what to use for a Jackshaft and if the AGK GX parts work. I haven't heard back from AGK or CCC about this.
Plus- great displacement, good cost (used), honda reliability, vintage look. Negative- not sure of compatibility of gx parts or jackshaft