Noob here, first post, Question on Fat bikes

GoldenMotor.com

NorthernVandal

Dec 1, 2015
Idaho
I found you guys, awesome. Howdy everyone. I have begun my search to find the perfect motor setup for my Soul Stomper. The issue that has me searching is that #1 my bike has fatty tires, and #2, finding the engine and drive setup, be it chain or friction drive, I may have issues with the bike being set up with a factory 3 speed and hydraulic disc on the left rear wheel. Any ideas on this kind of complication or am I pretty much going to have to bring the bike down to a single speed? Thanks everyone, nice to meet you guys.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Welcome to the forum. We're glad to have you with us.

If you use our 'Search' and type in 'fat bike' you'll have some reading that might help you make some decisions on your build. What you'll see is that they do not lend themselves to a simple bolt-on engine installation. You might need to fabricate some type of off-set engine mounts to accommodate the wide rear tire and to have drive chain clearance.

That said, there are quite a few recent builds using the fat bike design so it isn't impossible, just a little more challenging.

Your disc brake will be an issue if you plan on a Chinese 2 stroke kit. It will interfer with the rear, driven sprocket installation. However there are ways around that too.

Keep in mind that the type and number of 'gears' your bike currently has only comes into play when you're pedaling. The gears have nothing to do with the engine driving the bike, unless, you purchase and install something called a 'shift kit' or jackshaft drive. This will allow use of the bike's gears when the engine is pulling the bike. You'll need to do some research on that option too.

Good luck and let us know when you decide on a power source and we can be more specific about offering advice on motorizing your bike.

Tom

Last edited:

NorthernVandal

Dec 1, 2015
Idaho