Need Help Reassembling Skyhawk...

GoldenMotor.com

navifty

Oct 22, 2011
world
This is slightly embarrassing but I am a newb after all. I disassembled my 2-stroke motor (not sure what brand, seems standard) and now I can't get it back together. My terminology may be wrong so I posted a picture below, but basically I took off the head and cylinder case[?] and now the piston[?] won't fit back into the cylinder case because of these two black plastic rings that expanded. Anyone have any tips on getting the piston thing back into the cylinder? Forcing it was a no-go...

Picture of the piston[?] and the four mounts for the cylinder case[?] (not shown)

maintenancenazi

Oct 22, 2011
Asheville
Don't try to force it! You will break your rings, (don't ask how I know). Look at the piston ring grooves carefully. You will see some little black pins inside the grooves. You have to position the ends of the piston rings with these little black pins, only then will the rings compress enough to allow you to slide the piston back in the jug.

Al.Fisherman

Sep 9, 2009
Calera, Alabama
The two "two black plastic rings" are the piston rings. These rings have a special way of going on. There are a alignment pin that the ends of the rings align up with.

You being totally inexperience of installing a piston here is the best way for you, in fact the best way I've found for these engines, as it helps in not breaking rings for a noob.

1) Remove the cylinder (which you have done).
2) Remove the piston (remove "C" clip retainer from ONE side)
3) Slide out piston wrist pin (only enough to remove piston from piston rod)
4) Remove piston from engine. (note as to where the front is, mark if you need to. There should be a arrow/mark on top of the piston. This will be aligned with the exhaust port)
5) Place cylinder on work area, upside down (piston skirts upward)
6) Place top ring as needed (aligned with piston alignment pin).