TANAKA PF3300 or standard 80cc HT bicycle engine?

GoldenMotor.com

alecwhardy

Oct 9, 2011
Stockton
I am looking for an engine for my bike. Here are my requirements:

1) Can't be too loud
2) Engine must last at least 2-3 years (twice-a-week use, no more than 20 miles at a time).
3) Must travel around 25 - 35 MPH
4) Must be removable (In around a 2-3 hour time frame)

I have been looking online, and recently I came across the DAX offer for a Tanaka PF3300 engine and a standard friction drive for $320. The standard HT engines are all around $220.

Is the Tanaka PF3300 worth $100 extra?
Are the friction-drive mounts (DAX) any good? Do the engines stick out of the side alot?
Can I buy an additional gas tank for the Tanaka kit?

OR is the HT kit better. (Will it stand up to around 2-3 years).

How much louder is the HT kits than the tanaka.

This is my first build so please give me some guidance. thanks!
dance1

Last edited:

frozenveinz

Sep 25, 2011
Washington
Re: TANAKA PF3300 or standard 80cc HT engine?

I'm not sure a HT could stand 1 1/2 years. The tanaka is a MUCH higher quality engine that will love you long time. Spend the extra hunnerd. The HT is pretty loud, because of the bad gears. However, exhaust wise, it is probably going to be te same, as you can just make a pipe for either motor.

Rocky_Motor

Nov 14, 2011
Fort Collins & Boulder

The Tanaka will be much more reliable and last you those 2-3 years. Just change the oil every so often. The HT engine can also last that long but only if you get lucky will it be without much maintenance like replacement of badly designed parts/gaskets.

1) All these small engines will be mostly loud but the tanaka will be much quieter than the HT. 4 strokes are generally always quieter than 2 strokes.
2) Tanaka is better, HT is not ruled out but less likely to last as long
3) Both will travel that fast. 44 tooth sprocket seems right, which is what comes with the HT kit