rechargeable battery for running lights

GoldenMotor.com

thegnu

Sep 15, 2011
freedom pa
Been digging around here in the electrical forum for a couple days , an found a thread where a gentelman uses rechargeable power tool batteries for his lighting. ( all credit for this goes to him )
I got to thinking doesnt fisher price make ride on toy cars an motorbikes for children ? answer YES! an BAM the bells start ringing in my head , an the sizes an capacities of these batteries fit our conglomerate needs very well now I am no electricial engineer but dosent an electrical driven motor use current faster than a light bulb an heres a link to batteries an chargers .
just dig around a bit 6 volt 12 volt in varrying sizes.

Peg Perego 12 Volt Rechargeable Battery for ride-on toys - Walmart.com

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
The battery you linked is a simple SLA (sealed lead acid) battery. They're available from many sources in various voltages and amp hour ratings. The same kind of battery is used in industrial applications as back-up battery power for fire alarm panels, emergency egress lighting and numerous other devices where a battery is needed to power a system for varying lengths of time.

Many of us use the SLA battery for lighting and there have been several members who have successfully devised a way to recharge those batteries from a circuit built to use the engine's white wire. Check the search feature and read what/how others have used this style of power supply.
Here's a link for you to explore > http://www.power-sonic.com/
Tom

Last edited:

thegnu

Sep 15, 2011
freedom pa
Tom thanks for the info an link I had not realized many of you are already doing this .
I am having such a great time building an reasearching that mine inches closer to a 1/2 size motorcycle with every passing day . thanks again .

Spaz_Static

Jul 24, 2011
North Carolina, USA
I know its an old post, but that's what you guys get for me using the search feature. :)