Where do I start powering my bike?

GoldenMotor.com

Toolbox

Mar 29, 2011
Kentucky
Ok from the thread title I think its obvious that I am new to this forum. I am a college student who lives fairly close to school as well as close to my new job. I have been driving my f-150 or my Jeep back and forth which I enjoy but with gas prices rising I have been looking into something different to save some $$$. I have a diamond back mountain bike back at home just sitting in my parents garage. It is a full suspension bike as well. I just need some information as where to start. I have done some research and found companies such as golden eagle that make the kits but I can't afford to shell out $600 right now. I am mechanically inclined and have the ability to fabricate mounts and such. I would prefer to simply buy a kit and install it if I could find something cheaper.

I think I want to go with the engine being mounted over the rear tire and doing either a belt or chain drive. Is there anybody that sells the kits cheaper than golden eagle that meet my specifications? Sorry to be vague I am just clueless as to how to go about this thank you.

ferball

Apr 8, 2010
NH
I would just get a cheap in frame chinese kit, check most any of the vendors on this site for current prices, but I am guessing you'll need to spend about $150 on a kit. I doubt that an in frame will go nicely into a full suspension bike, so I would just pick up a used 26 inch off of craigslist. Usually about $25. or even offer a trade on CL your bike for one with out suspension. That in my estimation would be one of the most cost effective routes.

You could find an old chainsaw, procure a clutch of some sort, rig up a mount and all that, but you'll spend lot more time, and you will nickel and dime the build, and before you know it the 200 you could have spent on a kit is somehow invested in a scary looking chainsaw bike.

Just my thoughts.

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now