Lack of power and speed can anyone help?

GoldenMotor.com

KoolBreeze420

Jan 2, 2014
Midland
I have a 66cc motor kit with the nt speed carb, A few days ago my spark plug blew out of the head and I had to buy a replacement becasue of inventory issues I bought the rebuild kit, it consisted of the cylinder head, cylinder body, a new piston with rings.
I used all but the piston and rings the bike runs but I can't get above 30 KM per hour. I took the carb off and cleaned it and it had no effect I was thinking that today I would inspect the clutch and other areas but to be honest I am a PC technician and I have tinkered with cars and have been able to fix many issues with the manual but this problem has me stumped and I don't know what to look at or for.
Should I change the Piston and the rings and should I go back to break in procedures?
Could the cylinder head nuts being a few pounds above or under cause any issues?
I think I have them torqued to around 15 to 18lbs I redid the wiring on the CDI and changed the spark plug but it still is lacking speed and also low speed it's doesn't like at all anymore it used to have more power and it used to go about 15 KM per hour faster when it's not under load the engine sounds great but under load it lacks power and speed please if anyone can point me in the correct direction to figure out what the cause is that would be awesome.
Could it have to do with it needing to be re-broke in or something?
I was going to put the old cylinder body back on just to see what would happen then I decided to write this post to get advice on my next move.
Thanks in advance for taking the time to read,answer and help me..
:-||

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado