need help choosing front brake

GoldenMotor.com
Mar 31, 2013
RI
high folks, i've recently joined the ranks here as a total noob and i wanted to say thank you to you all for sharing your knowledge, i truly appreciate the feelings of sharing and camaraderie that i have witnessed here and i have learned much from you all already.

...ordinarily i don't like asking for help, especially on a forum like this where just about any question a noob like myself could think to ask has already been asked and answered many times but i decided to reach out and ask for some help in choosing a front brake because the more i ride my bike the more nervous i become relying on just a coaster brake ...and because i'm unclear on what would be the best choice.

...anyway, i am leaning toward a disc brake because in my reading the disc brake seems to come out on top for stopping power in all situations except the rain and i don't ride in the rain so that's a non-issue.

...also, it seems that a disc brake would be slightly more economical as it would hopefully be just an addition, i like the idea of drum brakes but for that i'd need a new wheel. (i'm not totally against this as i'd like to upgrade to a heavier gauge spoke but i'd like to wait to do that until i can replace BOTH wheels, for cosmetic reasons i'd like both wheels to match if possible)

...anyway, lol, here is a picture of my bike which is just a Micargi Cheetah beach cruiser and i'd appreciate any help i can get, first, is it possible? ...and then, if so, links to sources would be awesome.

thanks in advance, bozo

Master-shake

Feb 24, 2013
texas
yeah man. I had that same issue. what's the diameter of that "steerer tube?"

What I did is i found an old mountain bike with the same diameter tube and swapped out the front end. that little swap cost me 219$ by the way. probably not the cheapest route, but hey I'm sure you can find some old crappy mountain bike to get the front end off of.