1st Bike, No Go.

GoldenMotor.com

Deispring

Apr 20, 2009
California
I just got the bike 2 days ago, USED, and the motor was not attached. I could complain, but it was a Schwinn Jaguar Cruiser, and the bike, Front and rear lights with tire-friction generator, and the 70cc Motor kit, all tallied at $150 Even.

HOWEVER, I got no instruction manual, so it took me about 5 hours to get it all put together, and when I finally did???...... Nada.

Now, Mind you I'm not big into mechanics, I'm a computer tech to be sure, but Motors and such, I'm a bit clueless. But here's what I do know. The clutch is definitely engaging because i can feel a significant difference between peddling with the clutch engaged (which I can do) and peddling with it disengaged (which brings me to a stop pretty Darn quick). What I have not heard from the bike thus far is any "put put" sounds of the engine even TRYING to turn over, which leads me to believe that there is no spark coming along the electric highway of this bike. I am about 90% sure there is good gas flow because after trying 4 or 5 times to get it started I pulled it back inside to take a look around, and when I pulled out the spark plug i could definitely smell gas.

I looked around the forums and the one thing it seems it could be is the CDI (since the kill switch isn't even hooked up yet, as it's one of the things I couldn't figure out how to hook up :p). So I pulled out my little Multimeter and checked the CDI and found the following.

- to black, + to Plug = 1384. Oddly, the reverse gave me 1386, but I figure that's negligible.
But ALL connections leading to the Blue gave me no reading at all. I even clipped a tiny cut into the insulation to go further down the line of the blue wire and the only response I could get was blue to blue, ie from the cut to the end, but nothing else.