About to Start a Board Track Project

GoldenMotor.com

meezer

Oct 28, 2011
Ferndale, MI
Hi All,

First let me introduce myself, since this is my first post here. My (real) name is Brian and I live in good ol’ Motor City, USA. I recently signed up to join a machine shop “collective” in my neighborhood of Ferndale, so I now have access to all the machine tools I need to really tackle my own board track build to the degree of quality I’ve been hoping for. I’m not by any means mechanically illiterate; I doubt I’d have such a burning desire to build one of these bicycles if I was. At the same time, I’m not an expert, so I had a few questions I was hoping the community could answer relating to my board track build as I finish my plans for construction.

My ultimate pipe-dream, and perhaps it is unreasonable, is to make my own 2-stroke for this board track racer. I don’t like a lot of the China engines, and the idea here is to build as much of this bike from “scratch” as possible. As a kid I took apart mower engines and did basic repairs, but some of the mechanics of the motor bicycle are baffling me.

I would like to make my build a belt driven bicycle, so keeping that in mind, what are the common ways for starting a 2-stroke engine driving a rear-wheel hub belt drive? Do I lift the back end and pedal? Can I make it an electric start with idler? What is historically the most accurate way of starting a belt-driven board track bike?

I have scoured the internet, but perhaps I’m looking in the wrong places…does anyone know where to buy the hoop that bolts on to the rear wheel? Or should I just buy a smaller bicycle wheel with no spokes and fabricate the mounting hardware?

Michigan law requires a tail light and brake light as well as a headlight for mopeds. If most of the two stroke engines being sold only have one wire for aux. power, how do you connect the other two lights?