So let me get this straight...

GoldenMotor.com

NerpAngel

Sep 28, 2009
Ellensburg,WA
When I try to start my engine, it sounds like it wants to fire up, but that's only when i'm pedaling. Of course when i stop pedaling, it just stops. So.... this could be a number of problems right?
Faulty spark pulg?
Broken CDI or magneto?
Engine flooded?
Wrong oil/fule mix?
Leaky air filter?

Sorry, i've been looking around and there could be so many problems I see. But maybe if I provide some more info I could narrow down why my engine won't start?
BTW this is my first time trying to start this engine since last thurs for the first time.... Ya it's been a very sad and depressing week... hahaha

If a video would help I can post one on youtube and link you guys. Or pics too.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Nerp,
You're just having a hard time of it, aren't you? Let's see if we can get you going.
An internal combustion engine needs three things to run, well, it needs more than three but the essentials are: Ignition (spark) Fuel and Air.
You need to confirm that you have those before we proceed into troubleshooting.

Spark: Remove the spark plug from the engine. Connect it to the plug wire and lay it against the cylinder head cooling fins. With the clutch engaged, push the bike forward and look at the tip, the electrodes of the plug and you should see a spark, albeit a small one, jumping between the tip and the little 'L' shaped thing bending over it. The plug must be securely grounded against the engine to do this test. If all your wiring is correct and the CDI and magneto are performing, the plug will spark. If not check your wiring connections against the diagram below and get back to us if you still have no spark.