50cc fuel filter black washer? NT air filter?

GoldenMotor.com

tseekr379

May 11, 2011
Quito, Ecuador
Hello everyone... my post is regarding a little black rubber (looks like rubber) washer-shaped thing floating around in the fuel filter. As you can see in the picture, it is on the side that connects to the petcock valve at the fuel tank. What is this thing? And why haven't I ever read a single thing about it? Is it supposed to be loose? I will try taking better, closer pictures so you can see how it just floats around in there. It doesn't seem to be causing any negative effect, but then again, I'm new to this. I should mention that everything is new, as I just received it this past Tuesday and I'm currently in the process of breaking it in.

And also, a question concerning the NT air filter. I understand some people are partial to drilling holes, others say it's a no-no. If I don't know too much about this and don't want to spend $$, would drilling holes in it be a good way to increase the air intake? Or would I be better off going to a motorcycle mechanic and getting a different air filter? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

wayne z

Dec 5, 2010
louisiana
The black washer is supoposed to be on the end of the paper element inside the filter to hold it snugly against the fuel inlet. Common problem with these kit filters. Throw the cheap filter away and get a good one localy.

tseekr379

May 11, 2011
Quito, Ecuador
Thanks wayne, now I understand what it is meant for. Now, could anyone maybe tell me what would happen, if say, I couldn't find a replacement? I'm just saying, if worse comes to worse. I have already found a motorcycle mechanic that could help me with maintenance, repairs, modifications etc.... I just want to know what could be the repercussions if I didn't replace it and just left it that way.

Sometimes, I feel if I don't ask these questions, I will eventually learn the hard way. I will go find a replacement as soon as I can.

DaveC

Jul 14, 2010