Help with a cool project please.

GoldenMotor.com

RCinAL

Dec 27, 2009
Alabama
Hi, I'm a noob. (Please see my introduction thread for details.) I have a awesome beach cruiser I want to motorize. I can't post a link because I am a noob I guess. It is a 'Electra Straight 8' bicycle. Would someone please google it and post a link or photo of one so I can explain my concerns with this build? The forum won't let me do it.

I simply want to install a 2-stroke kit and ride, but it is a rather unique bike and I'd like a little advice from others with experience before I order something that may not bolt right up. It is also a very expensive bike (to me anyway) and I do not want to mess it up if I can help it. I am well tooled and plenty mechanically inclined, but do not own the expensive specialty tools needed to "custom fabricate" a lot of things and would scrap the idea if anyone thinks this will be a lot harder than usual.

Thanks,

Ralph

RCinAL

Dec 27, 2009
Alabama
Yes, that's it. Thanks a million, stilldoc! Mine is identical to that one except I have installed ape hanger handlebars for better comfort and a few more style points.

Can someone recomend a quality 2-stroke kit that will bolt right in to this bike? As you can see, the lower frame tube going to the stearing head is bigger than most bikes. Also, the pedals are positioned about 6 inches farther forward than is standard. What about the cables that come with these kits? Will they be long enough for my bike's ape hangers? They are at least twice as tall as the stock ones in the photo. And the 3-speed Nexus hub. Do these cause any unique problems?

Thanks,

Ralph

Last edited:

john_the_great

Oct 24, 2009
California