2 new bikes with same problems..please help!

GoldenMotor.com

gaspeddler

Jan 10, 2010
california
Hello motorized bike community! I am new to this hobby and I am fairly mechanically inclined but when it comes to the details of engine/electrical workings I have a grasp of the basics...but I am really struggling with this one and hoping someone can assist. O.K. so i built my first bike and loved it so much I built another for my wife. These are new Raw motors 80cc engines with kill (my fun)switches. I have ridden them a few times to dial them in and worked out most of the kinks so yesterday my buddy and I took them on a real test drive to make sure they are capable and reliable before I ask my wife to ride one. Last weekend we rode them both for about 5 miles and they were great. Yesterday we took them farther...almost 20 miles or so round trip. They where running great and we were clocked by a roadside mph indicator going 39mph, could have gone faster if we new the indicator was coming up so we could "clock" our best time. Anyways they ran great until on the way back my buddy Trevor said his bike was losing power slowly, but I thought not to much of it as he was still hard for me to keep up with. We pulled into a predetermined gas station after a good 5 minute straightaway to check bolts and possibly add some more fuel, etc. Upon leaving the gas station his bike would not start. Just a faint change in tone as throttle was applied, but no power...then stall. He proceeded to walk/pedal bis bike for the next 2 mile stretch while I motored ahead, then waited for him. I thought I was real funny teasing him for having to pedal(only because his bike was faster all day...he also weighs probably 40 pounds less than me)only to have my bike do the same as his upon attempting to restart. No power to throttle, just runs during the wind down of pedaling to start, then coasting to a stop. Odd that they would both do the same thing within 2 miles of each other. Had to be install er