I'm new i need advice....

GoldenMotor.com

newusercruiser13

May 31, 2015
forrestville NY
I'm new to the game.... I have a raw questions for my fellow enthusiasts. I'm a bigger guy weighing about 265. I have created a 50 cc on an old Murray 3 speed.... I run a 41 tooth sprocket. On a flat surface I have okay speed, but on small and large inclines I have to a bit a pedaling. (a lot of pedaling)..... What can I do different? I plan on doing another build what can I do to build a better bike for me?

:-||

xseler

Apr 14, 2013
OKC, OK
Howdy and welcome to the pleasant side of the internet!!

One of the easiest things you could do would be to swap your 41t for a 44t....or higher. The trade-off would be a slightly slower max speed. Other things might include a less restrictive exhaust (usually louder), fine tuning your carb for better performance, porting your engine exhaust and intake, or a combination of these.

Best of luck in your travels!

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Hello newusercruiser13 welcome to the forum.

I agree with xseler a bigger sprocket will help. On your next bike using a bike with more speeds in my opinion will help. Along with gathering as much momentum as you can before going up hills.

_Spyder

Mar 12, 2015
Wisconsin
I'm by no means the most qualified here to answer your question, but I'll give you what I've got until someone with more comes along.

What I've picked up so far tells me a larger sprocket, a nicer head, or especially an expansion chamber exhaust for better low speed performance and more power respectively are all things that would help give you a little more umph on a hill.

Besides that, there's all the little tuning stuff like gaskets and bolts; take a few weeks off of maintenance and the bike will get a lot slower, in my experience.

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
I also recommend at least a 44T for heavy guys - a 66cc motor can help a lot too.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado