Friction Drive Build (I'm a newbie)

GoldenMotor.com

superballer365

Jun 26, 2012
Middlebury, Connecticut
Hello everybody. I'm currently building a friction drive bike with a 25cc homelite engine. The problem I'm having is with finding a proper spindle. I would like to use something with a diameter of about 1 inch, giving the bike decent acceleration and hill climbing abilities. I purchased an 18mm socket, however this was not deep enough for the flywheel nut to reach the bolt coming out of the flywheel. This bolt is about an inch long, and i'm having trouble finding something that is 'shallow' enough inside for the nut to be able to reach the bolt. I checked a couple local hardware stores for "deep sockets" but none of them were quite deep enough. What I did find was that the depth of the sockets depends on the brand, so I was hoping somebody could give me the brand of a socket that they have used successfully as a spindle in powering their bike. Or, perhaps somebody could recommend an alternative spindle? The diameters of most bike pegs seem to be too large for a proper gear ratio. Any help is greatly appreciated

cannonball2

Oct 28, 2010
Colonial Coast USA.
Its very easy to fab a roller from 1" aluminum rod stock if you have the equipment. The crank threads are 5/16 fine. Simply accurately center drill the rod and tap the threads. Cut to the length you need and screw it on. Its ready to go. A local machine shop would make one probably reasonably enough.

superballer365

Jun 26, 2012
Middlebury, Connecticut