Rhoades Quadricycle. Please help me.

GoldenMotor.com

PutsTheDUIinRUINED

Oct 17, 2009
'zona
I made a thread a little while ago about my interest in motorizing a 4-wheeled quadricycle Surrey. Well, I've found something better, in my opinion; the Rhoades Car GoBoy QS. They offer a pretty solid electronic assist system, but I think motorizing it is the way to go. My concerns for this project are not with the law so much as they are with safety/performance/possibilities. I guess what I am wondering is how I can do this? I think I may be in over my head as I am not a mechanic by any means. Motorbiking is an addiction I found out. I've gone mad. I want to motorize everything with bicycle wheels that I find interesting.

Anybody have any input? I'm at step one right now - brainstorming - so all things are welcome.

I certainly don't have the technical know-how to do this. If anybody has a suggestion or a number of somebody who would be interested to help me, by all means.

Attachments

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
I'd need a lot more technical data on that quad to offer any opinions on installing an engine. That twin derailer looks like a nightmare to deal with so I'd be inclined to run directly to the rear axle with the engine drive chain. There looks to be ample room back there for anything you'd want to put on it. You'd probably need some form of free wheel or sprag clutch and/or a centrifugal clutch. I have a trike that is powered by a 4 stroke Titan that is driving the rear axle through a centrifugal clutch and leaves the pedals, chain and rear hub unaffected. Just my thoughts based on your photo. As Arty Johnson used to say..."vetty intastink ..."
Tom

Last edited:

AlWalters

Aug 9, 2012
USA