controller, relay or...

GoldenMotor.com

jdcburg

Jul 9, 2009
massachusetts
OK, I'm already on to the next question. I want to power my ebuild with a 24 volt 350 watt motor. I am willing to pedal start and then have the motor kick in to help on the hills. Deacon has written eloquently about the pulse jet method of operating and I think that would work for me. So should I get a controller, a 24 volt relay or just a big heavy duty 30 amp switch? I'm leaning towards the controller as I think it might help keep me from burning up the motor. Razor has one matched to the motor I am interested in for $19 + $6 s/h, but I'm no electrical engineer and there's a lot of wires coming out of those things! There are generic controllers as well for a little more on eBay. Are they simpler to hook up? Would anybody here be willing to walk me through the process with either the Razor one or a generic? thanks - jd

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina
I use the controllers these days thought I honestly don't see any big advantage. I wouldn't recommend one over the other to be honest. With a controller you need a throttle so the pulse method really isn't much of an option.

The truth is you are going to run it wide open throttle most of the time with a controller. But if you do get one you can leave most of the wires unhooked. You need to hook up the battery wires, the motor wires, the throttle wires, and if the controller has a switch set you need to jumper them together or use them for a kill switch. My kill switch is a household switch inline on the battery side.

If you do not use a controller you need a heavy duty fuse and switch for sure. Your biggest stress on the engine is starting from a dead stop and hills so high they slow you to a crawl. The controller keeps your wiring from burning up in those situations I think.

Hysteresis

Jun 22, 2009
The North