12 volt generator idea

GoldenMotor.com

Kahlas

Nov 27, 2011
Illinois
I'm new to the whole MB scene but since I'm now an epileptic I built one and plan on using it as my main vehicle so i don't put others at risk of getting hit while I'm driving a car. Got a good winter priced deal on a 4 stroke china motor that runs like a champ and will push my old mountain bike about 33 mph down the road. currently I have a great 200 lumen flashlight for a headlamp and a turn signal/brake light combo that both run on batteries. What I'd like to do since this will be my main vehicle is add on a small SLA battery and run a fog lamp for a headlamp and use the battery to power all my other electrical stuff. I also am don't want to have to worry about recharging the battery off the bike with an outlet so have been looking into ideas for a solid generator I can charge the battery off of. I ran across this generator on ebay Wind / Hydro Generator - 12V Generator - 160 Watts Peak Power - 60 Watts Cont. | eBay which is supposed to be for a small windmill and was looking for opinions on it. Rigging it up shouldn't be a hassle after all I'm studying for my degree in mechanical engineering right not at school and have spent a good portion of my life working on tanks and w/e else is broke in the army and working on semi's. The rpms seem a bit high but at about 30 mph I'd need a 36:1 ratio to get those rpms which is easily doable. Any thoughts or ideas?

UriDead

Nov 21, 2011
Madison, IN.
The RPM requirements to me would be the stopper. 14,000 for a full 12 volts? what does your lighting system require voltage wise?
A fog lamp will have a good current draw IMO, unless you can find a LED solution. Possibly a small solar panel and a UPS battery? All eBay available.

Anyway my 2 cent.

Thud

May 26, 2010
West Michigan