Intake/Exhaust advise

GoldenMotor.com

Brassneck

Oct 30, 2015
Seattle, WA
Hey All,

I posted the below summary in my build thread, but don't think it will be seen as much as if I repost in a more appropriate spot, like here. :)

Note: This is a new build...and I'm new to these bikes...So thanks in advance for any suggestions!

(Repost from my last post on my build thread: http://motorbicycling.com/showthread.php?t=60258) This is a 66/80cc kit.

Been playing with the bike for a few days now...starts up great, idles great...but tuning it is still on the list as it's not perfect.

After about 40 miles on the bike (Still breaking it in), I wanted to check the spark plug. As I suspected, it's is oily/black. I know the mixture is heavy but also likely rich (16:1...moving to a higher rate for next tank). Before I messed with the carb any more (Needle clip at the leanest position) I wanted to play with a few things to see if/what will impact a leaner condition--Specifically with regard to exhaust and air intake.

With regard to air intake, I've run the bike without the stock filter to see how it breathed and it seemed to be a little better in terms of smoother idle and overall running. So I think the breathing of the carb could be better than the stock air filter...Not sure on what works best (More reading to do), but I see them advertised all over...so there seems to be some options there.

Anyone have a recommendation for a better air filter to fit the NT stock carb? I think SBP's has one that looks decent: http://www.sickbikeparts.com/catalo...ducts_id=99&osCsid=kva4ht4srbe2eh30u5lf6l9d87

As to exhaust, I am guessing this has the most impact for leaning out the bike. With the 16:1 ratio, it's pretty much dripping oil from the exhaust cap...so I took it off to clean...and for kicks ran it with the cap off... WAY louder! But also very very peppy! Lots of torque and ZERO 4 stroking! I'm sure this would impact top end speed, but I liked the power.