Project parts bike

GoldenMotor.com

Turner

Apr 15, 2008
Hey, I'm Eric. I'm from Michigan and I'm new to the entire motor biking scene, but I am fascinated by it. I plan on building a motor bike right after I get a few things sorted out.

I work at a bike shop in Novi and so I've got the hook up with some bike parts. My boss is hooking me up with a frame and another coworker is hooking me up with a fork and components, so I'm really excited about that.

I was reffered to a site called bicycle engine kit, bike engine, bicycle engine, bicycle motor and after poking around here I've noticed some of you are dealing with them. That is where I plan to order my engine from (the 65 cc frame mount(I wish there was an 80 lol))

I was wondering if anyone could offer up some reviews about the retailer. one ofmy co workers orderd his engine from there and he let me ride his bike around a bit today. it was a blast.

My other question is, Since I plan to commute with the bike I'd need to know laws and such reguarding motor bicycling. Is the bike street legal? Is it considered a bike or a moped? (or some other classification..) do I need to have any registration, lights or fancy doo-dads to make it legal? And what is the law reguarding helmets and the motor bicycling?

any and all answers are apreciated.

Eric

paul

Dec 23, 2007
Kalamazoo, MI
i live in michigan also. laws are that it is a moped and you are supposed to get it registered. i have not done that yet but it is only $15.00 for a 3 year sticker. remember they do not put the size of the motor on the engines and their is no way to tell what size they are unless you pull the piston out. you have a 48 cc if you say more then 50cc it will be considered a motorcyle. :D glad to have you with us. i personally do not think the police will bother you long as you are not out making trouble.

Turner

Apr 15, 2008