Loss of power/weird noise

GoldenMotor.com

Vtech.kicked.in.yo

Apr 27, 2014
albert canada
Hi guys, I'm new to this entire field that is two-strokes. I recently purchased a Grubee Skyhawk GT-5A 66CC engine kit, I currently have approx. 75-125 kms out of it, when I am driving ( when the motor is cold or warmed up ) it makes a loud over-revving kinda noise and you can feel a lack of power, than goes away for 30 seconds and happens again. I've checked the plug and its the brownish color like I was told it was suppose to be, 16:1 fuel mixture for break in, adjusted the carb cable and needle setting so it runs a tad richer, and cleaned the air filter but still seem to be running into this problem a lot. The bike doesn't seem to also get up to top speed, goes maybe 15-20 MPH, and while accelerating up to speed it continually makes that higher pitch/ over revving noise and boggs for a couple of secs, than runs good and starts to pick up speed, than does it again and slows down. I am running the stock plug and have an in-line fuel filter, stock fuel line and fuel tank pet-cock, any advice or help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
First of all welcome to the forum. You've come to the right place for help and advice.

You really should reduce your oil ratio. 16:1 is too much oil (how many times have I typed that?) 32:1 is a better choice.
My first guess would be that you possibly have the clutch cable too tight and the clutch is slipping causing the over revving. Typically a new clutch doesn't need adjusting but I'll post a link that will give you some advice on how to do it.
http://motorbicycling.com/showthread.php?t=22726
Let us know if this helps.

Tom

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
If the noise is a weird high pitched squealing noise, you might have a loose head allowing leakage...is there oil on the cylinder where the head bolts on?