Starts and runs..but pulling clutch cable kills engine

GoldenMotor.com

Motorbikenewb

Mar 19, 2013
Columbus, OH
Hi everyone... I'm new to this. Bought and installed an engine from gasbike.net. It started right up but I can't seem to keep the engine running, when I slow down or stop.

More specifically, pulling on the clutch cable to (to disengage the engine from the chain) kills the engine.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Welcome to the forum.
We're assuming you have a 2 stroke, in frame engine.
Have you tried increasing the idle speed of the engine? Idle speed screw on the carburetor?
It helps to tell us what engine and carburetor you have when asking for advice.

Tom

Motorbikenewb

Mar 19, 2013
Columbus, OH
Yes, a two stroke, in frame engine 60/80cc air cooled engine, using 16:1 gas:oops:il mixture (GRUBEE 2012 SkyHawk GT5 66cc/80cc Slant Head Bike Motor Kit). I figured the engine would need some fine tuning, and I intended to adjust the idle speed screw on the carburetor... but my plan was to do that while the engine is idle... but since I can't seem to keep the engine running at standstill I figured I'd consult the experts first. Would a messed up choke cable also be an issue???? Also, how much rotating would I need on the idle speed screw (full turn, half turn, etc).... I'm assuming clockwise increases idle speed. Again, thanks....

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Correct. Turn the screw in to increase idle speed and out to decrease it. The engine doesn't even have to be running to screw the idle speed screw in but it helps. The engine should be warm, at least operating temperature though.

I'm not sure what you mean by a "messed up choke cable". This tells me however that you have a CNS carburetor. Technically it is a fuel enrichment control and not a choke or air inlet restrictor as is used on the other more common NT carbs.