How to split cases

GoldenMotor.com

ERV JR

Jul 15, 2012
whittier Ca
new guy here . I built my bike about 3 weeks ago and have maybe 100 miles on it. The other nigh the engine licked up. Its the bottom end. I pulled the jug off and clutch cover . I was able to tap the crank on the clutch side and the crank then turned freely and then stopped again.
There is alot of black junk crap, maybe carbon or maybe gasket material in the crankcase and also metal , I assunme a bearing cage ot something.
I am new to 2 strokes, but am a mechanic by trade,and have built passanger car, marine and race car engines.
If someone could please give me a break down on how to remove the flywheel or clutch plate so i can split the case and see what the damage is that would be great.

Last edited:

ERV JR

Jul 15, 2012
whittier Ca
Re: hoe to split cases

You need a special puller that usually comes with your kit.
I have a box of them if you need one.
Well there wasnt a puller in the kit . The kit I got seemed really cheap, the engine was painted silver and the reast of the stuff in the kit appeared to be cheaper than what most of my friends kits came with .
I would have to pull the small sproket off with the puller and then see what happened . I am not sure what the cost will be to rebuild it by the time I get bearings and gaskets or if replacing one part that failed and a few gaskets is all thats needed.
I am tempted to tig weld some mounts into the frame so that I can set the engine at the angle that i want, since the fisrt time I just wanted it running so that I could tow the kids in the trailer to the park for the 4th. also tempted to fix it put it back together and give the bike to my wife and start with another baike and build mounts,replace the head and port it and an dget aq pipe and have a fun bike. But would like to spend more time working on the race car than on a bike

ERV JR

Jul 15, 2012
whittier Ca