what is an acceptable compression of a stock motor

GoldenMotor.com

Peter16

Jun 24, 2012
Australia
I hope this is the correct area.

I have just run in my china girl and thought i would do a compression test.

The reading came back as 130PSI. It sounds about right but i have limited experience with motorcycle engines. I know its an acceptable reading for an outboard.

cheers

donphantasmo

Oct 3, 2010
Middleburg, FL
Harbor Freight Cylinder Compression Tool.Try these. They're the same LittleTinMan has, but they're just a lot cheaper. You're not going to use it on a daily bases, so you can go cheap.

You plug it in where the spark plug goes, then you turn the engine with the clutch out. You're probably going to have to pedal it and just pop the clutch or something. Anything over 110-120 is pretty good...

Peter16

Jun 24, 2012
Australia
its a good idea to disconnect the ignition system or at least hold in the kill switch. with out the plug earthed out it blocks up the flow of electricity and can do damage. Or you will do what i did and reach down to look at the gauge and get a very nasty electric shock!

cmanns

Jul 1, 2012
Santa Cruz, California
You should maybe make sure it's warmed up a bit and properly lubed I guess. Not 100% sure but if anybody gets low values or feel their low...

Not sure if your manuals say good compression rating but there is cold and hot ratings. It can indicate different thing with cars, not sure with these 2 strokes. In general decent compression is nice though.

Sep 4, 2009
Texas
my 50 cc HT had 80 psi brand new out of the box
my 66 cc HT had 130 psi out of the box
I'd be interested to know if the psi changes much after the breakin period of a few gallons of fuel. I did notice a huge change in one kit I had in power after breakin. Kinda makes me wonder if maybe some factories test run these and others just throw em together and never even fire em up?

Ibedayank

Oct 29, 2011
Columbia Tennessee
Graham Motzing said: