General Physics Questions about the 2 stroke setup

GoldenMotor.com

Xixor

Apr 15, 2012
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I am still very new to this project and am having some difficulty envisioning how exactly the bike will ride when set up with a two stroke motor - like the 49cc or 66cc grubee, jet, etc china kits.

From an engineering/physics perspective:

1) With the motor running - do you still pedal when the motor is running? Can you "assist" the motor while going up steep hills by pedaling, or vice-versa, does this even work? There are some extremely steep hills in the Pittsburgh area that I would potentially be going up and have doubts as to whether even a 66cc motor could haul my 200lb ass up by itself.

2) With the motor turned off - this is the big question I have - I am having trouble seeing how the motor chain works when the motor is off. Does the chain always turn as the same speed as the rear wheel, or is it like the regular bike chain where the only time the chain is moving is when you are pedaling? I know that at the very least, the clutch would disengage the chain from the motor, but if the chain still moves as the bike is moving even with the motor turned off and the clutch out, does this create a lot of chain drag to overcome with regular pedaling?

3) Is it really as easy as advertised to turn the motor on and off as you are riding? My 2 mile commute would likely involve a great deal of switching the motor on and off as I go on streets and then ride through parks and bike paths. This is another reason I am curious about the chain drag question above.

Sorry for the n00b questions but thanks for the help!

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
1) Yes, you can pedal with the engine engaged. This is one reason I prefer a multi-speed bicycle versus a single speed.