Need advice...Great site lots of info...

GoldenMotor.com

Slick Vixen

Mar 24, 2009
Miami
...I am new to this "concept" and this is the place to learn...alternatively get a little confused as well. (I know this has been asked in many forms but the answers seem to skirt the issue a bit.) I'm new to "motorized bicycles" for many reasons, retro appeal etc..but I would like to start from the perspective that I dont want a regular "moped" like the Tomos or others...I want a frame mounted motorized bicycle, (to resemble the early board track bikes), I want to commute at least 30 miles round trip 3-4 days a week @ 30 mph avg speed (up to 40-45 to accelerate), I weigh 200lbs and will be carrying a courrier bag w/me: specifically do I want a 2 or 4 stroke, how many CC's, and who makes the kit for me to start my build....please I've overthought this to exhaustion and need direction...

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
Welcome to the forum. It's probably better that we tell you what we have and how well it works for us, rather than advising you on what to buy.
I have a 48cc 2 stroke frame-mounted on a chromo mountain bike. It carries my 200lb body on a 50 mile round trip commute at well over 100 mpg. However, AZ law limits me to 20mph (unless I want to get a tag, MC license and ride in the traffic lanes).

If you want to go 45mph, I would get a sprocket the bolts to a rear disk brake hub or use a hi-hat sprocket adapter on a rear disk wheel. It is difficult to install a clamp-on rear sprocket without some wobble. That wobble gets scary above 30mph.
Good luck

Slick Vixen

Mar 24, 2009
Miami