waiting on my first engine

GoldenMotor.com

Joshua

Jun 8, 2008
usa
Ok I'm new to the motobike world and I was wondering if you have to go with synthetic oil or if that is just your best choice? Has anyone gone with the cheap wal-mart stuff. Also I was wondering what the best ratio is I have read several different things and I was just wondering what most people were mixing there fuel like. I have searched and only found a small amount of info, but I have never had good luck with the search on any forum. do very many people do a 7 mile commute one way on these, because I'm sure going to give it a try. anyway I look forward to visiting with everyone and learning all I can.

spad4me

Jan 20, 2008
Arizona Bullhead
You can use whatever oil you want.
Synthetic smokes less.
Dino oil is very good for example Penzoil ashless for small aircooled motors.
Castor leaves a film on the metal that protects but fouls the rings.
A 20 %Castor 80 % synthetic mix like klotz or maxima are what I use.
Do not use outboard oil.
Do use aircooled oil.

For break in most use a 20 % oil to 80 % regular gasoline mix.

A seven mile commute is for me a fraction of what I cover daily.
You will break down.
Flats are common, as are problems with the chain ,idler pulley, carb, fuel tank.
These engines vary in quality a gebe rack mount with a 35 cc subaru is very reliable but priced about $600.00
A frame mount Happy time is about $150.00 to $300.00
Depending on the quality of the kit.

Look to the left for motorized bicycle kits.

Last edited:

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Welcome to the forum Joshua

I use synthetic and recommend it. For my break in I ran 20:1 and run it most of the time 32:1

I ride to work everyday, round trip a little more then 15 miles. But then, a few minutes at home, and I'm out the door again. I average between 20-35 miles a day.
:ride2:

Oh, and I use Bel-Ray MC1

Last edited:

nogoodnic

Jan 29, 2008
Shelby MI
forum1.freakbikenation.com