NT carb idle trick

GoldenMotor.com

Kartooo

Nov 18, 2016
MA
did 2 builds with china girl and NT carbs. been a mechanic for over 40yrs and love the simplicty of these things. no problem with needle/jet/float stuff all coming out OK except for idle on #3 build. too lean. has a 4 position needle. position 3 from top too rich all around. position 2 OK all around but too lean at idle. broken in, no vac leaks, #65 jet, 40 oil mix, b6hs, head bolts at 12ft lbs with copper head gasket.

raised the float just a bit above the std 21mm and nice idle now !! dance1

i have found subtle changes in all these kits/carbs. some needles are longer/shorter, 4 groove/5 groove. clamp has a tab to hold the square nut/no tab, different slide return spring. length of clutch arm short/long. nice casting/bad castings, fine thread/course head studs. they all run different and require different carb settings.

Last edited:

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
yeah, I've been telling folks here for many years that float level can move you 1/2 a notch on clip

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
few folks look at most of the info here - everyone wants one-click answers and then demands that they be latest, trending, info

would take a lot of work to organize all info here into a nice reference, but everything needed has been here for quite a while

Kartooo

Nov 18, 2016
MA
these kits are not plug and play. without some mechanical skill and access to a data base of knowledge like found here one could get pretty crossed up.

in the early 70's i ran the parts dept at a honda dealership. i was always playing with jets/needles/timing/sprockets on my CB160. my owner's manual stated a top speed of 84MPH. when all tucked in i could slowly pass a friend wide open on his 305...

ZipTie

Jan 8, 2016
Mpls Mn