Starfire 69cc - Will turnover but seems reluctant to do so...

GoldenMotor.com

buzzingbicycles

Mar 1, 2012
ireland
Hi guys,

Hello from Ireland!!

Ok so I have a few MBs and one of my Starfire 69cc will not start.
I've problems before but never this one-

When I pedal to start and then release the clutch lever the engine will turnover. But it seems strained when it is turning over and it's impossible to pedal for more than 10 seconds because it's so difficult to turnover the engine..

Sometimes she will get close to starting but something in the engine is making it difficult for the piston or something to run smoothly.. I think..

Any ideas/people who've had similar problems?

Is there any way the piston could be misaligned?
And if so, what is the best way to out the 'head' on and line up the piston..

I've built around 20 MBs so I'm not a complete newbie..

Colm

rustycase

Gutter Rider
May 26, 2011
Left coast
Gosh, Colm, if you got experience, perhaps you should pull the cylinder and have a look at things just to be safe?

Good luck
rc

FileStyle

May 27, 2008
Decatur,IL
have you tried adjusting the clutch? or maybe a little much compression! try adding another head gasket. just my two cents worth! ( not my first rodeo, but always willing to learn something new)

Al.Fisherman

Sep 9, 2009
Calera, Alabama
Before I pull the cylinder, I'd remove the chain, (this will let you know if its in the engine or bike) and peddle the bike. If it's not in the bike, remove the spark plug, and magneto cover, and take a 14mm socket and turn the magnet nut clockwise. This will also tell you if the compression is too high.

nightcruiser

Mar 25, 2011
USA