help please :)

GoldenMotor.com

powerband

Jan 8, 2012
australia
dance1 hey all :) i orderd a 66cc bike engine kit off eaby and it should be hear by the end of the week, but i have a few questions because this is my first build.

before i run the engine what should i do? any tips for starting first time? any tips for mounting?

and do you guys have any other tips for the first time build? link for the kit i got : A80 66ccCHROME motorised bicycle bike engine kit petrol | eBay any good??? thanks in advance :)

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
Go over the engine and check all bolts for tightness. Seal the mag where the wires come out with silicone. Blow out all casting and machining debris from the ports.

nightcruiser

Mar 25, 2011
USA
This all depends a bit on your mechanical ability and curiosity.

If you are not familiar with mechanic work you might be best off crossing your fingers and hoping for the best with the motor. You should at least check that everything on your motor is tight from the factory, and check the torque on the head bolts if possible. Definitely run a break in fuel mix for at least a gallon or two, recommendations vary from 16:1 to 24:1 ratios. I tend to ride my first gallon at 18:1, second gallon at 24:1, then 32:1 after that. I have also found it a good idea to remove any existing grease you can get at that came from the factory and replace it with fresh clean grease. Most of the time the factory grease is pretty poor, dried up, and sometimes even full of dirt and metal shavings...