Flying Horse 66cc build

GoldenMotor.com

davidbd

Dec 13, 2012
Austin, TX
Hi I'm new to the hobby and living in Austin TX. I recently got a 1963 JC Higgins bike and am installing a new Flying Horse 66 from Bikeberry. Being new to this and not knowing any better I also got the CNS carb. Bikeberry left the NT carb in the box, but I haven't tried it yet.

The rear sprocket center hole was much too small for the coaster brake. I milled the hole larger to fit.

I took off the head and found grit in the cylinder, perhaps metal filings:confused:. The rings were rough cast - they would gouge the walls instantly. I sanded the outer edges of the rings smooth with 800 grit sandpaper, being careful to keep the edges sharp and not rounded over.

I lubed and assembled (noting that the ring gaps must be centered around little alignment pins within the grooves).

I found that I needed the chain tensioner. I reluctantly drilled a small hole through the tensioner bracket and lower frame rail and bolted the bracket on there securely so it wouldn't get pulled into the spokes. This bike has really hard American steel and the bolt fit very snugly so, considering the force vectors, it should be fine.

The clutch cable was way too long. I pulled off the end cap and shortened it with a dremel, then put the cap back. There was no ferrule to secure it. I found one that was a little large and put some solder on the end to make sure it stays in place. The solder also keeps the cable from fraying.

It ran, but it vibrated like a mother.

I found that the wiring instructions were totally wrong. It should be like this:
blue from engine goes to blue from CDI (ignition)
black from engine goes to black from CDI
green from kill switch also joins to blue
other kill switch wire goes to bike frame
white wire is not used - that is a 6v supply and should just be clipped.