First build, my plan/your advise?

GoldenMotor.com

Mgardner1991

Jul 11, 2013
Ft lewis, WA
Hello all,

I want to build a bike but need some advise as I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

I'm open to any bike, but would like it to be a 21 speed beach cruiser. If there is one from walmart that a lot of people use/recommend? Or even a inexpensive make/model I might find in any local bike shop?

What I had trouble finding, can I run a chain drive motor in the gears so that I can shift the gears with the motor driving them? I want to be able to start in a low gear and shift it as I speed up.
I'd like to be able to pedal also but don't plan on wanting/needing to.

Do I just mount the motor and use a longer chain and run it from motor to rear gears to pedal gears? Or what that cause pedals to always turn?

I don't have a budget, but under 300$ would be great. I have plenty of mechanical knowledge and access to most any tools.

Thanks in advance.

xseler

Apr 14, 2013
OKC, OK
http://www.sickbikeparts.com/catalo...ducts_id=29&osCsid=0jvpfulo0f22mnsfhtf2dcq946

This will get you everything you need to 'shift' ---- except the bike and engine kit. A frame with a good amount of room with a rigid rear suspension will make things lots easier. I believe that you will need a couple of inches between the seat post and the rear wheel for clearance for the jackshaft.

Good luck in your build!!

Last edited:

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ
I'm open to any bike, but would like it to be a 21 speed beach cruiser. If there is one from walmart that a lot of people use/recommend? Or even a inexpensive make/model I might find in any local bike shop?
Besides a quality bike to start with you won't find for $100 at Wallyworld, forget about the front derailleur, your motor kit adds one lever (clutch) and one twist control (throttle) to your handlebars and it already has one of each on each side so something has to go or you end up with a joke of an unsafe user control mess.