Quick release rim?

GoldenMotor.com

Joshua

Jun 8, 2008
usa
I know I've heard you can't use the quick release rims on the china motors but I can't remember where I heard it. why is this? I just picked up a Trek bike at a garage sale for $50 and it is in really good condition, 10 times the bike I have the motor on now. Heck the speedo that came with it is probably worth $30. can it be done or do I have to get a different rim.

Thanks,
Josh

Joshua

Jun 8, 2008
usa
ok good deal that is what I wanted to hear. I couldn't see any reason it wouldn't work. The only thing I was thinking is maybe they can come loose while you are riding, safety thing. thank you and anybody else use a quick release.

Joshua

Jun 8, 2008
usa
800 sport i think, I'm new to trek so I have no idea what it was worth I just knew it was better then my wal-mart bike. It has a new brake system, speedo, some kind of shock system on the back that will work with my motor, a new rock shock on the front, new rims and tires, extra front and back rim with tires and tubs, nice metal pedals and toe clips which I took off already. the guy said his son only rode it 50 miles or so. I thought $50 sounded pretty good I guess.

Andyinchville1

Manufacturer/Dealer
Dec 26, 2007
Scottsville, VA
HI,

Just a thought but some people who like he super heavy duty stuff don't like the quick release because having the release means having a hollow axle rather than a solid steel axle....FWIW - I have 2 bikes (one with and one without the quick release) and have not had a problem either....

Andrew

PS - As far as the really heavy duty axles...I know solid axles are available in Cro Mo but I am not sure if quick release axles are....

pmbassist

Jun 6, 2008
HI,