Introductions and questions. I have a plan, need advice.

GoldenMotor.com

dissident75

Nov 23, 2010
Houston TX
Hey everyone. I've been lurking here for a while doing a bunch of preliminary research before I start my kit.

Some background on me.
I'm new to gas powered bikes but I have been riding an electric bike for a few years as my main means of transportation. My recent move to Houston and its more lax attitudes to gas bikes has prompted me to make the switch to gas from electrics for the greater speed and range. When I say main I mean only. Having pissed of a judge a few years back I have had my privileges revoked and have a few more years of riding ahead of me and the limitations of electric have worn me a bit thin. I mean the torque and speed are great but SLA batteries are heavy and wear out quickly and good lithium iron phosphate batteries in usable capacities are freaking expensive. $900 for 48v 20AH, really?!?

I'm the kind of guy that likes to get dirty building stuff and have been for a while. I repair my own cars, do my own home repairs and rehab houses with a few buddies. I know my way around a tool box and power tools.

Generally speaking I fix and make stuff and have done so for a while.

I'm planning on building my first gas bike soon and need a bit of advise to save me some money.

I'm going to be using a Walmart Roadmaster 26" mountain bike as the base. I know it has its space limitations but since I am not going to buy another bike it will be the base. Plus it looks kinda hot.

Bike
Walmart.com: 26'' Men's Roadmaster Mountain Sport All-Terrain Bike: Bikes & Riding Toys

I'm planning on a blck finish 80/66cc grubbee skyhawk gt5 kit from gasbike.net To account for the lack of space in the frame I'm going to order the manic mechanic billet intake and a low profile air filter. I think these together will fix the carb not fiting issue I keep seeing people have on these bikes.

The engine kit