real motorized recumbent.

GoldenMotor.com
Jul 27, 2015
R.I.
I'm new to this thread and I have been looking for a while to see if anybody has built a true motor assisted lowrider style recumbent bicycle. I have been riding a recumbent for about a year now, yeah it's one of those things that you have to do it understand. I also have a long history of building things. Ridiculous overpowered Rube Goldberg looking machine. I have designed on paper roughly a low racer front wheel drive recumbent bicycle with a motor that drives the rear tire. Has anybody ever seen anything like this. I'm thinking about putting on A 66/80cc raw racer with a 39 to sprocket.. the recombinant iRide day today has a simple bolt on engine with a propeller. With pedal assistance I have had 45 miles an hour downhill and that's with a 42cc 2 stroke with a 20 inch 8 pitch beechwood propeller.
I guess what I'm looking for in links the things that could help or any general knowledge. I'm buying the motor at the end of the week and plan on doing status updates as this goes. Is just something about being that low to the ground moving that fast makes you feel like a kid again. Wish me luck.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Welcome to the forum. We're glad you've joined us.

To answer your question; yes. Motorized 'bents', are common. Do a little searching using our 'Custom Search' and type in 'recumbent' and you'll find lots of discussion on the subject. There are some 'build threads' showing how the projects were accomplished as well as details like drive systems, brakes, wiring, fuel systems, etc.

Good luck and keep us informed on the progress of your project.

Tom

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Unusual but not the first prop driven bike that's been seen here. One that was featured used a weedwhacker with a prop attached where the line spool used to go. Weird but it worked.