May 19, 2012
na
is my chain to high on the back sprocket at the top point

here some new pic "you can click on them"

Last edited:

Al.Fisherman

Sep 9, 2009
Calera, Alabama
Hard to tell, as the pictures could be better, but, it doesn't look like the chain sits down far enough.
Did you bevel the teeth on the sprocket (both sides)?

cj200

May 19, 2012
na
Hard to tell, as the pictures could be better, but, it doesn't look like the chain sits down far enough.
Did you bevel the teeth on the sprocket (both sides)?
what do you mean by bevel the teeth on the sprocket
sorry im new to this

here some new pic "you can click on them"

Nashville Kat

Apr 20, 2009
Jacksonville, Florida
I would say yes, the angle on the tensioner is too great. You should level that out as much as you can while still maintaining chain clearance of the frame stays. You may have to take out a link or two, which can be a daunting task if you haven't any experience at it- and you need a decent chain cutting tool.

Are you having some kind of problem? You still have a lot of dropout left if you want to pull the wheel back- that will level out the chain a bit, but the idea is to chain the angle with the chain tensioner the least you can get away with. You may have to adjust the brake pads then.

I don't know about the beveling suggestion- Is that for a smaller 410 chain? I don't know what chain you have- most common is 415 and the sprock shouldn't need any special grinding. The sprocket is often countersunk on one side- make sure you're getting the benefit of allignment and frame clearance with the countersunk on the most appropriate side for your build. It appears you have the countersunk facing so you get the moist frame clearance, which is good- IF you are getting good allignment of the motor and wheel sprockets.