Frame material questions

GoldenMotor.com

jokesonu

Aug 23, 2010
Moses Lake Wa
Some of you build your own frames. I would like to chop and stretch existing frame parts. What do you guys like for tubing? Is mild carbon dom tubing ok or do I have to go with chromoly? I can't find that locally. What wall thickness do you use? I am a good welder and would be using my tig, but I never tried this before. I want a longer wheelbase about 52 inches. Sure I could buy one but what fun would that be? Any advice or links would be appreciated.

42blue15

Sep 18, 2008
St Louis metro, USA
Mild steel is okay, not quite as stiff as cro-mo.
Also, the DOM I have seen is not the same wall thicknesses (not as thin-wall) as the cro-mo usually is.

For just one frame, it wouldn't be much to mail-order the tubing from somewhere online. You'd only need 3 or 4 pieces a couple feet long, at the most... That way you could first cut a donor frame up, and then order the cro-mo tubing that most-closely matches the frame's own tubes.

culvercityclassic

Sep 27, 2009
Culver City, Ca
I would get mild steel .065. That's what I have used to make a complete frame for my race bike. It does not cost much so you could get 20 ft for under 20 bucks. Practice before you start.

jokesonu

Aug 23, 2010
Moses Lake Wa
Thanks Culver. .065 wow that's thin but I never been accused of underbuilding anything. We don't have real bike shops here in hooterville but I found a scrap pile of old bikes and frames in a pile ten feet high and thirty feet across. I pulled an old ten speed frame no wheels just a three piece crank with alloy chain rings and noticed it was tig welded so I gave it the ping test and I think its chrome moly it pings like a bell.

I guess I have the start of a rat rod. The back half anyway. I'll practice welding mild to the rest of it and use 70 s2 filler and beat it with a bfh see how it holds up.

2nu2noBetter

Aug 24, 2011
mountains of Canuckland