Gary Fisher Marlin

GoldenMotor.com

Ptenwal

Sep 26, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
Hey,

I currently have a 21in Gary Fisher Aluminum Mountain bike. It has been converted to a rigid single speed with; Surly 1x1 fork, Avid bb7 disc breaks, Continental Town & Country Tires, Sun Rhino Light Rims, and Shimano Disc Hubs .

Recently, I have decided that a motor "needs" to be added for a new project. I purchased a Grubee 66cc/80cc GT2 build kit online and the "universal mounting brackets." My hope is that the over sized down tube will not be an issue when mounting the engine. I also bought a King 34t sprocket to attach to the disc mount on my rear hub. Realistically I can't imagine this being as simple as a straight "bolt on build," but I remain optimistic. I have a lot of experience with bicycle mechanics, but zero when it comes to engines.

Does anyone have any suggestions or comments about; engine compatibility with the frame, chain alignment, the selected gear ratio I have gone with (my thought was that a smaller sprocket would eliminate issues with chain clearance). Also, Tomicog makes fixed gear cogs that bolt directly onto a disc brake hub, but the largest size available is a 20 tooth. Is this way to small for a 66cc motor and a 175 lb rider?

Thanks,

Paul

Attachments

Last edited:

scotto-

Custom 4-Stroke Bike Builder
Jun 3, 2010
Ridin' inSane Diego, CA.
Hey,

I currently have a 21in Gary Fisher Aluminum Mountain bike. It has been converted to a rigid single speed with; Surly 1x1 fork, Avid bb7 disc breaks, Continental Town & Country Tires, Sun Rhino Light Rims, and Shimano Disc Hubs .