Gen question about watts vs range

GoldenMotor.com

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
With the same battery pack, will a 36v500w motor have more range than a 36v700w motor if they are run at the same throttle setting? I realize that the 500w motor will be slower but will it deplete the batteries slower?
I currently have a 10 mile commute (one way) to the train station, which is very doable on a decent ebike. I may buy a house soon and my commute wll increase to 20 miles (one way).

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina
Im no scientist and have not tested this situation so this is off the top of my head but I would say no difference. All things being equal (and they never are) you bike will behave exactly the same.

If you have more power available you will probably use it to climb up that hill a little easier or go a little fast through that intersection. So you will probably use more amps.

I would think to do the exact same amount of work it would require the same amount of energy give your statement. Very unknowledgeable reply sorry I can't do better.

NewAge

Jun 19, 2009
California
In your example it would depend on the controller, the math is volts x amps = watts
So 36 x 13.89 = 500 which means your controller will deliver roughly 14 amps.
And 36 x 19.44 = 700 which means your controller will deliver roughly 20 amps.
There should really be no difference in range between the two; the 700 watt setup would just be a little quicker.

Your range is governed more by the battery pack chemistry and amp-hour rating.
36 volts worth of 10 amp-hour lead acid batteries means that theoretically you could draw 10 amps for one hour on the pack, but seeing as how the rule of thumb is to never run the lead acid pack below 50% capacity* you would really only get 10 amps for ~ 30 mins.