66/80CC Sprocket problem

GoldenMotor.com

The-Dullahan

Feb 18, 2015
Clermont, Florida
Hey, everyone. This is actually my first post here and I am rather new to the world of motorized bicycles.

That said, let me get right down to the issue I am having. I am using a generic Chinese engine kit (not what I'd normally choose, but I felt that it would be a good starting point to introduce myself to this with and given local laws, where anything over 50CC is illegal, I felt I should try to be a bit more low key this go around) and I've gotten my build to the point where I have to put the engine on it. Yay. The problem I am having is actually getting the chain on the drive sprocket on the engine.

I know how to dismantle the opposite side of the engine and manually spin the sprocket, I know how to spin the sprocket from the side it's on as well, using a socket. That is not the issue I am having.

It's like the chain does not want to FIT the sprocket. I can get four links onto the sprocket before the fifth one just sort of glides over the teeth.

I COULD manually force all of the teeth in place, but before I go doing any damage to it by attempting to run the engine that way, I figured I'd try to solve it with Google.

So Google has no information on what I'm asking, so I've come here.

Basically, my idea is this: I have two of these engines. One as a parts engine, because when it arrived at my house it was thoroughly destroyed and one solid engine (presently mounted on the bike)

I am thinking that perhaps I can remove the sprocket on my parts engine and place it onto the engine on my bike. The problem is, I have no idea how these engines are assembled internally.

I don't have a gear puller nearly small enough to pull the gear off of the shaft. Youtube tells me it is possible to hammer the entire assembly out from the opposite side (Using a block of wood, naturally).

What about reinstallation? Do I just hammer it back through from the sprocket side?