My First Motorbicycle.

GoldenMotor.com

Embed

Sep 11, 2009
Michigan
This is my first bike. It's a Raleigh Retroglide with an 80cc(66cc) engine. I'm not sure on the manufacturer as I didn't build it myself. I got it from Craigslist, one of my favorite places for anything motorized. After owning this thing four just four days I already want to build a second one!

True, it's not as clean as a lot of the bikes on this forum but she runs great and is a good conversation-starter at red lights on campus (I'm a sophomore at Central Michigan University). Take a look, feedback is quite welcome. Also tips and tricks of the trade are quite helpful!

I have a few plans for it. I have a couple friends that have 70's Honda motorcycles (CB350's, RD350's, etc.) and we're always working on them so working on the engine is a big part of owning a MB for me. I want to squeeze as much power and efficiency as I can out of the engine. I was planning on getting a new exhaust with a nice expansion chamber, a performance carb with a better air filter and upgraded brakes.

I have a question in particular about brakes on my bike. If this is the wrong place I can just start a thread in the appropriate section. If I have the standard axle with no quick release, is it possible to install front disc brakes? I've read the articles presented in the safety section about the possible wheel/axle dropouts with disc brakes and they all mentioned bikes with quick release axles only, never standard axles so I don't know if it's a big deal with my bike or even if you can mount them on it.

Here are the pictures, I had trouble loading them in my introduction thread heh

Attachments

Last edited:

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine