4 stroking and too lean???

GoldenMotor.com

borntofli

Jul 27, 2012
tx
Is this possible.... The plug is grey-tan but the bike 4 strokes bad....

It runs worse if I move the needle richer, so I must need a smaller main jet to get it runnin right....

Stock is 70?? so i would need to get a 72?? or a 68 to get leaner????

PAracer

Sep 14, 2012
Steelton, PA
Is this possible.... The plug is grey-tan but the bike 4 strokes bad....

It runs worse if I move the needle richer, so I must need a smaller main jet to get it runnin right....

Stock is 70?? so i would need to get a 72?? or a 68 to get leaner????
Are you doing a plug chop to identify the condition?

I don't want to comment on your tuning as I'm not an expert in the area. I don't want to feel responsible for a blown motor.

However, the jet size depends in how you are looking at it. Are wou looking at wire gage, or mm? A numerically smaller wire gage size is actually a larger hole. Obviously, a smaller mm size jet will have a smaller hole. To go richer, you need a larger hole, so either a smaller gage size, or a larger mm size. It's kinda confusing, so watch how the jets are labeled.

borntofli

Jul 27, 2012
tx
It 4 strokes at all throttle positions....I ran it down the road at cruising speed and shut it off when I hit my driveway....Its a new plug so it doesnt have any color on the ceramic part....

Is a 68 leaner than a 70, or is a 72 leaner than a 70???????

PAracer

Sep 14, 2012
Steelton, PA
It 4 strokes at all throttle positions....I ran it down the road at cruising speed and shut it off when I hit my driveway....Its a new plug so it doesnt have any color on the ceramic part....

Is a 68 leaner than a 70, or is a 72 leaner than a 70???????

I need to apologize. I talked about wire gage before. I was wrong. It's actually drill #. Same difference though.

I can't answer that unless I know if you are talking about drill # size or diameter in mm. The two different units go in opposite directions.