hello from Brazil

GoldenMotor.com

Guellao

May 27, 2013
Brazil
Hi guys im a newbie here and taking a lot of informations trough the topics im reading

But i still have some questions since im really newbie at mechanics
How can u define a jack shaft? there is not a translation for this in my language could someone explain it to me? how it works and what it is?

Do i need one if I decide to go with centrifugal clutch?
Im 6ft4 and 225lbs would a HS 142 carry me on hills? my city is full of them
or i Should go with a bigger motor?

Im starting on a chooper build and i do not want to spend huge amounts of money in something that is simply not going to work

sorry for my bad english and thank you very much guys for keeping something so informative on internet

fatdaddy

May 4, 2011
San Jose, Ca.
Hey Guellao, Welcome to the forum.
A Jack Shaft is just a shaft that either transfers the drive from one side to the other, or is used to aid in gear reduction.You can see a pretty good example of one here that transfers the motor drive to the peddle side. Post# 5, Pictures 1 and 2
http://motorbicycling.com/showthread.php?p=475566&highlight=jack+shaft+picture#post475566
And yes, Being a BIG guy, you might want to consider a larger engine. I don't know the law in Brazil concerning motorized bicycles, but they CAN'T be as hard as the laws in the States.
And if you run into a guy named Ivan Mansurov, a friend of mine, getting drunk in a bar, Tell him RED says HI. He recently moved back to Brazil and I have not heard from him since.
fatdaddy.

Last edited:

Guellao

May 27, 2013
Brazil
thank you very much for your information

If i buy a centrifugal clutch do i still need a jackshaft?or it is not needed for gear reduction?
would a 79 cc carry me on some serious hills? i do need a motor that is as small as possible due to the regulations in here and i do not want to draw cops attention. Here they "pretend" the do not see it as long it looks like a bike and not a motorcycle

Guellao