Has anyone used a engine with the internal cdi?

GoldenMotor.com

Theon

Jan 20, 2014
FNQ Australia
Not fantastic feedback score?
It doesn't say if it's 40mm or 38mm crank?
I'd be wary, as in I'd wonder how well balanced, how good the bearings are ect?
Price is reasonable.
But very little info.

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia
Im not in need of one I was wonder if it was some sort of or similar to a grubee super rat I think its called.

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
It would give an engine an 'old-time' look. Especially if you could get an oval cylinder and head. That wouldn't be obvious, though, to casual lookers. But I'd like to have something like that on my bike.

But I wonder if the possible downside, e.g.; expensive and hard to find replacements, outweigh this one advantaqe.

Or are there other advantages?

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
I have no personal experience with it but I've read/heard that there were some overheating problems with that integral CDI concept. The magneto cover was drilled for air cooling but even so they reportedly were prone to premature failure. The idea was abandoned. Makes me wonder if someone didn't buy up the unsold extras and are now selling them. Just a guess on my part though based, as I said, on no experience.

Tom

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
I'm with 2door on this. I've worked on two engines with the internal CDI and both had spark issues. It was extremely hard to find replacement parts for the ignition. One we bought a new coil used from ebay and the other was swapped for a conventional engine.
I have never heard anything but negative reports on the built-in CDI engine so be careful.

MEASURE TWICE

Jul 13, 2010
CA
I'd say it just make sense to have the electronics as far away from the heat as possible.