Can't pedal/ Rear wheel won't spin

GoldenMotor.com

peregrin

Jul 24, 2009
York, PA
Hi. Totally new, first post. I built the kit, hopped on the bike, rode down the drive where the chain popped off the sprocket, and now after reseating the chain I can't pedal or spin the wheel. It seems to lock up. Also my clutch arm is very stiff to pull and doesn't seem to do much of anything. Sorry I've never built anything like this before so I'm really lost. Any help would be appreciated.

peregrin

Jul 24, 2009
York, PA
Thanks Frank that was exactly what had happened. I fixed it and reassembled everything and then POW it bunched again. How do I stop it from happening? Is the chain too loose? Too tight? It looks fine to me, using the tensioner there is some slack.

Ghost0

Mar 7, 2008
Bellingham, WA
Sounds like it is getting bunched up because it is coming off the sprocket. So the solution is to keep it from coming off the sprocket. This is typically an alignment problem. Make sure that the chain run both rear to font sprocket and front to rear sprocket are lined up. It may just be too loose too. Beveling the tips of the sprocket teeth can also decrease the chance of the chain popping off even with some minor misalignment.

freewheeling frank

Mar 10, 2009
ridgway colorado
should have 1/ to3/4 slack in chain also look at the alignment of the sprockets, is the rear sprocket tight? no sid to side wobble? im sure iof you go slow and look carefully you will solve this let us know cause we all learn from others, and this sight is graet for that what a great bunch of guys and gals later frank

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
I'm guessing that the rear sprocket isn't on straight...
Take the chain off & spin the wheel, Watch the sprocket turn & see if it wobbles in any direction (up & down or side to side) If it does, you need to fix it so that it spins perfect & true!!! Even a little wobble will cause problems!!!